Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Style Guide

Styling Guidelines for Academic Writing at Eternity

Citing Sources - Newspaper and Magazine Articles

Magazine Articles

Newspaper Articles from a Website or Database

Newspaper Article in Print


Tips: As a general rule of thumb, if you consult an article online, you should include the URL or the name of the database. 

You can usually omit an initial The from the name of an English-Language newspaper. 

 

General Format for Newspapers & Magazines

Note 1. First name Last name, "Title of Article: Subtitle," Title of Magazine or Newspaper, Date of Issue, URL to article or name of database if relevant.
Bibliography Last name, First name. "Title of Article: Subtitle." Title of Magazine or Newspaper, Date of Issue. URL to article or name of database if relevant.

Magazine Articles

Tip: Articles in magazines are treated differently than journal articles. Cite magazines by date only - do not include volume or issue numbers. Do not enclose the date in parentheses. Omit the page numbers in the bibliography entry. 

Notes 1. Jill Lepore, "The Woman Card," New Yorker, June 27, 2016, 23.
Bibliography Lepore, Jill. "The Woman Card." New Yorker, June 27, 2016.

 

Newspaper Articles from a Website or Database

Note 1. Eilene Zimmerman, "The Many Delicate Issues of Spirituality in the Office," New York Times, August 15, 2004, https://www.nytimes.com/2004/08/15/jobs/the-many-delicate-issues-of-spirituality-in-the-office.html.
Bibliography Zimmerman, Eilene. "The Many Delicate Issues of Spirituality in the Office." New York Times, August 15, 2004, https://www.nytimes.com/2004/08/15/jobs/the-many-delicate-issues-of-spirituality-in-the-office.html.

 

Newspaper Article in Print

If the newspaper is a less well-known or local publication, include the city name and state abbreviation in parentheses after the title of the newspaper. 

Note 1. Ellen Emry Heltzel, "The Hype and the Hush Around the Historian," Oregonian, September 23, 1999.
Bibliography Heltzel, Ellen Emry. "The Hype and the Hush Around the Historian." Oregonian, September 23, 1999.
Note 1. Robert Behre, "Presidential Hopefuls Get Final Crack at Core of S.C. Democrats," Post and Courier (Charleston, SC), April 29, 2007.
Bibliography Behre, Robert. "Presidential Hopefuls Get Final Crack at Core of S.C. Democrats." Post and Courier (Charleston, SC), April 29, 2007.

 

Magazine Articles

Newspaper Articles from a Website or Database

Newspaper Article in Print


Tips: As a general rule of thumb, if you consult an article online, you should include the URL or the name of the database. 

You can usually omit an initial The from the name of an English-Language newspaper. 

Cite magazines by date only, even if they are numbered by volume and issue. In reference list entries, put the year in the usual position and the month and day (if specified) after the magazine title.

 

General Format for Newspapers & Magazines

Reference List Author's Last Name, Author's First Name. Year of Publication. "Title of Article: Subtitle of Article." Title of Magazine or Newspaper, Month, day, year of publication. URL if accessed online.
Parenthetical Citation (Author's Last Name Year of Publication, pp>

Magazine Articles

Reference List Lepore, Jill. 2016. "The Woman Card." New Yorker, June 27, 2016.
Parenthetical Citation (Lepore 2016, 23)

Newspaper Articles from a Website or Database

Reference List Lukianoff, Greg, and Jonathan Haidt. 2015. "The Coddling of the American Mind." Atlantic, September 2015. http://www.theatlantic.com/magazine/archive/2015/09/the-coddling-of-the-american-mind/399356/.
Parenthetical Citation (Lukianoff and Haidt 2015)

Newspaper Article in Print

Reference List Pareles, John. 2016. Obiturary for David Bowie. New York Times, January 26, 2016. New York edition.
Parenthetical Citation (Pareles 2016)