Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Style Guide

Styling Guidelines for Academic Writing at Eternity

Writing Book Citations

Book with One Author

Book with Two Authors

Book with More than Three Authors

Chapter or Part of an Edited Book

Translated Book

Ebook


General Format for Books

Note 1. First name Last name, Title of Book (Place of publication: Publisher, Year of publication), page number.
Bibliography Last name, First name. Title of Book. Place of publication: Publisher, Year of publication. 

Book With One Author

Note 1. David William Kling, The Bible in History: How the Texts Have Shaped the Times (New York: Oxford University Press, 2004), 301.
Bibliography Kling, David William. The Bible in History: How the Texts Have Shaped the Times. New York: Oxford University Press, 2004.

Book With Two Authors

Note 1. Diane L. Jacobson and Robert Kysar, A Beginner's Guide to the Books of the Bible (Minneapolis: Augsburg, 1991), 151.
Bibliography Jacobson, Diane L., and Robert Kysar. A Beginner's Guide to the Books of the BIble. Minneapolis: Augsburg, 1991.

 

Book With More Than Three Authors

Tip: In the footnote, list only the first author's name followed by the phrase et al. In the bibliography, list all of the authors. 

Note 1. Julie Evans et al., Equal Subjects, Unequal Rights: Indigenous Peoples in British Settler Societies (Manchester: Manchester  University Press, 2003), 52.
Bibliography Evans, Julie, Patricia Grimshaw, David Philips, and Shurlee Swain. Equal Subjects, Unequal Rights: Indigenous Peoples in British Settler Societies. Manchester: Manchester University Press, 2003.

 

Chapter or Part of an Edited Book

Tip: The name of the chapter or part that is being referenced is enclosed in quotation marks. After the designation in, give the book title and the name of the editor.  

Note 1. Daniel G. Deffenbaugh and David L. Dungan, "The Bible and Ecology," in The International Bible Commentary, ed. William R. Farmer (Collegeville, MN: The Liturgical Press, 1998), 315.
Bibliography Deffenbaugh, Daniel G. and David Dungan. "The Bible and Ecology." In The International Bible Commentary, edited by William R. Farmer, 314-323. College, MN: The Liturgical Press, 1998.

 

Translated Book

Note 1. Augustine, The Confessions of St. Augustine, trans. by Edward Bouverie Pusey (Waiheke Island, New Zealand: Floating Press, 1921), 65, https//eboucentral.proquest.com/lib/up/detail.action?docID=349865
Bibliography Augustine. The Confessions of St. Augustine. Translated by Edward Bouverie Pusey. Waiheke Island, New Zealand: Floating Press, 1921. https://ebokcentral.proquest.com/lib/up/detail.action?docID=349865.

 

Ebook

Tip: Many ebook formats lack fixed page numbers. Avoid citing app- or device-specific screen location numbers, which may not be the same for others even if they consult the same format. It may be better simply to consult a version that reproduces the pagination of a printed edition. 

Note 1. Arthur G. Holder, Christian Spirituality: The Classics (New York: Routledge, 2009), 30, https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/up/detail.action?docID=446822.
Bibliography Holder, Arthur G. Christian Spirituality: The Classics. New York: Routledge, 2009. https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/up/detail.action?docID=446822.

 

Book with One Author

Book with Two Authors

Book with More than Three Authors

Chapter or Part of an Edited Book

Translated Book

Ebook


General Format for Books

Reference List Author's Last Name, Author's First Name. Year of Publication. Title of Book: Subtitle of Book. Place of Publication: Publisher's Name.
Parenthetical Citation (Author's Last Name Year of Publication, pp)

Book With One Author

Tip: In parenthetical citations, use only the author's last name, exactly as given in the reference list

Reference List Barker-Benfield, G. J. 2010. Abigail and John Adams: The Americanization of Sensibility. Chicago: University of Chicago Press.
  Mukherjee, Ankhi. 2013. What Is a Classic? Postcolonial Rewriting and Invention of the Canon. Stanford, CA: Stanford University Press.
Parenthetical Citation (Barker-Benfield 2010, 499)
  (Mukherjee 2013, 184-85)

Book With Two Authors

Tip: Put the first-listed author's name in inverted order (last name first). Names of additional authors should follow but should not be inverted.

Reference List Kinder, Donald R., and Allison Dale-Riddle. 2012. The End of Race? Obama, 2008, and Racial Politics in America. New Haven, CT: Yale University Press.
Parenthetical Citation Kinder and Dale-Riddle 2010, 47)

Book with More than Three Authors

Tip:When writing parenthetical citations for a book with three authors, use the abbreviation 'et al' following the name of the first author listed.

Reference List Laumann, Edward O., John H. Gagnon, Robert T. Michael, and Stuart Michaels. 1994. The Social Organization of Sexuality: Sexual Practices in the United States. Chicago: University of Chicago Press.
Parenthetical Citation (Laumann et al. 1994, 262)

Chapter or Part of an Edited Book

Reference List Gillespie, Kelly. 2017. "Before the Commission: Ethnography as Public Testinmoney." In If Truth Be Told: The Politics of Public Ethnography, edited by Didier Fassin, 69-95. Durham, NC: Duke University Press.
  Chapter Author's ast Name, Chapter Author's First Name. Year of Publication. "Title of Chapter: Subtitle of Chapter." In Title of Book: Subtitle of Book, edited by Editor's First and Last Names, pp-pp. Place of Publication: Publisher's Name.
Parenthetical Citation (Gillespie 2017, 72)

 

Translated Book

Reference List Hegel, Georg Wilhelm Friedrich. 2010. The Sciene of Logic. Translated by George di Giovanni. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press.
  Author's Last Name, Author's First Name. Year of Publication. Title of Book:Subtitle of Book. Translated by Translator's First and Last Names. Place of Publication: Publisher's Name.
Parenthetical Citation (Hegel 2010, 642-43)

Ebook

Tip: E-books are cited just like print books, just add information about the format you consulted. If you read the book online, include a URL. If you consulted the book in a commercial database, you can instead give the name of the database. If you downloaded a book from Amazon or Apple or a similar source, include that information instead.

Reference List Dostoevsky, Fyodor. 1917. Crime and Punishment. Translated by COnstance Garnett. Edited by William Allan Neilson. New York: P. F. Collier & Son. https://archive.org/details/crimepunishment00dostuoft.
  Gladwell, Malcolm. 2008. Outliers: The Story of Success. Boston: little, Brown. Kindle.
Parenthetical Citation (Dostoevsky 1917, 444)
  (Gladwell 2008, 193)