Anglican Theological Review: The ATR is a quarterly journal of theological reflection. In the spirit of sound learning that has been the hallmark of Anglican divinity, their aim is to foster scholarly excellence and thoughtful conversation in and for the church.
Catholic Biblical Quarterly: Scholarly articles and notes in Scripture and related fields, an extensive book review section, as well as news of the association's annual meeting and other pertinent notices
Biblical Archeology Review: One-of-a-kind archaeology magazine that acts as a bridge between the academic study of archaeology and a broad general audience eager to understand the world of the Bible better. Covering both the Hebrew Bible and the New Testament since its beginning in 1975, BAR is the leading nonsectarian forum for the discussion of Biblical archaeology. Articles by top scholars are written for the layperson, and archaeological news, trivia, and games ensure that even the most serious scholars enjoy reading the latest issue of BAR.
Bulletin of the American Schools of Oriental Research: peer-reviewed academic journals of the ancient Near East; publishes articles written by leading scholars and acknowledged experts in the ancient world that cover a geographical region from Israel and Canaan to ancient Anatolia, Mesopotamia, Cyprus, and Egypt and a chronological range from the Paleolithic period through Islamic times.
Interpretation: A Journal of Bible and Theology: Since 1947, Interpretation has offered pastors, scholars, and theologians a valuable resource for study, preaching, and teaching. Each issue explores a theme or biblical book with writers who have relevant expertise. Four to five major articles, "Between Text and Sermon" essays, and book reviews offer a variety of options for adding to and enhancing our readers' knowledge.
Journal of Biblical Literature: The Journal of Biblical Literature (JBL) is one of three academic journals published by the Society of Biblical Literature (SBL). First published in 1881, JBL is the flagship journal of the field. JBL is published quarterly and includes scholarly articles, critical notes, and book reviews by members of the Society. JBL has a moving window of Open Access. Aside from the current issue, the past three years of JBL are freely available to the public in PDF form, after registering on the SBL website. Previous issues, back to 1881, are available in the JSTOR Arts and Sciences III collection.
Journal of the Evangelical Theological Society: a refereed theological journal published by the Evangelical Theological Society. It was first published in 1958
Lutheran Quarterly: A forum for the discussion of Christian faith and life on the basis of the Lutheran confession; the application of the principles of the Lutheran Church to the changing problems of religion and society; the fostering of world Lutheranism; and the promotion of understanding between Lutherans and other Christians.
Lutheran Theological Journal: LTJ seeks to encourage and challenge its readers—chiefly the pastors, teachers, and lay members of the LCANZ, and the teaching staff and students of theological colleges in Australia and overseas—by keeping them abreast of recent developments in the primary areas of biblical, theological, historical, educational and pastoral studies. It also provides a forum for students of theology to publish the fruits of their research.
New Testament Studies: The scope of the journal are short studies and articles on issues pertaining to the origins, history, and theology of early Christianity and the New Testament, including studies in its history of interpretation and effects.
Scottish Journal of Theology: Scottish Journal of Theology is an international journal of systematic, historical, and biblical theology. Since its foundation in 1948, it has become established as one of the world's leading theological journals. As well as publishing original research articles, many issues contain an article review consisting of an extensive review of a recent book, with a reply from the author. Scottish Journal of Theology provides an ecumenical forum for debate and engages in extensive reviewing of theological and biblical literature.
Semeia: Semeia, an experimental journal devoted to the exploration of new and emergent areas and methods of biblical criticism, was published from 1974 through 2002. Each issue was devoted to a particular theme, and articles explored the methods, models, and findings of linguistics, folklore studies, contemporary literary criticism, structuralism, social anthropology, and other such disciplines.
Theological Studies: Founded and sponsored by the Society of Jesus, Theological Studies is a Catholic scholarly journal that serves the Church and its mission by promoting a deeper understanding of the Christian faith through the publication of research in theological disciples. Through refereed articles and reviews of noteworthy books, the journal aims to recover and to help make accessible the riches of the theological tradition, and to present significant developments in current theology.
Trinity Journal: The Trinity Journal is a theological journal published by the faculty of Trinity Evangelical Divinity School; offering thought-provoking essays and reviews to libraries, pastors, scholars, missionaries, and interested Christian laypeople. Articles deal with classic biblical, historical, and theological issues, many of pastoral importance. Authors are aware of the most recent research, and write for fellow scholars and informed Christians alike who want to keep their theological basis for ministry fresh and growing.
Zeitschrift fur die alttestamentliche Wissenschaft: (Journal of Old Testament Scholarship) an academic German journal (in German and English) established in 1881. It is concerned with theological, linguistic, and historical criticism of the Hebrew Bible. Formerly, it represented a strictly Protestant point of view on the Old Testament. At the present time, it is more ecumenical, also representing Catholic and Jewish points of view.
Zeitschrift fur die neuetestamentliche Wissenschaft: (Journal for New Testament Studies and the Ancient Church) The focus of the journal is the historical investigation of early Christianity, especially on the New Testament and nascent Christianity through to the Patristic period.
Learn these operators and tips for Google Scholar... then use them for Google searches too (and in other databases)!
How do I search by title?
Put the paper's title in quotations: "A History of the China Sea."
How do I sort by date?
Results are initially shown sorted by Relevance. Click on "Sort by date" to show the results in date order.
If you want to find recent papers, select the date range from the dropdown menu labeled anytime under the search box.
Click on "Since Year" to show only recently published papers, sorted by relevance;
Click on "Sort by date" to show just the new additions, sorted by date.
You can also receive newly added search results by email. To sign up for email updates, do a search as usual and click on the envelope icon on the left side of the page, labeled "Create alert."
How do I search by author?
Use the "author:" operator, e.g., author: "d knuth" or author: "donald e knuth". See Advanced Search Tips for more information.
Abstracts are freely available for most of the articles. Some articles may require a paid subscription to read.
Try these tips to look for the Full Text of an article.
Some results may be available as
See the following links for additional help:
Click "Save" below an article to save it to your library. You can read it or cite it later.
Click "My Library" to see all of the articles you have saved to "My Library." You can search their full text.
Any articles you have in your "Scholar" profile (articles you have written that you have included in the profile) will automatically be included in your library.
