| Criteria | Points | Description |
|---|---|---|
| Your Ideas | 10 | Your essay includes your own thoughts, ideas and/or experience while not relying on direct address or other conversational techniques suited for sermons and or speeches. |
| Others' Ideas | 10 | Your essay presents a larger context of ideas for your topic. You employ the ideas from your research through summary and paraphrase, while not relying entirely on direct quotations. No more than 15% of your paper is direct quotation. |
| Thesis Statement | 10 | A clear thesis statement that contains a “how and/or why element, remains present throughout the essay, directing its content. |
| Organization | 16 | Well organized and unified, contains clear evidence of logic and promotes clarity by employing the use of transitions between ideas. |
| Introduction | 10 | Introduces the topic to be discussed, immediately engages reader’s interest, and leads the reader to the paper’s thesis. |
| Conclusion | 10 | Restates the paper’s thesis and ties together the paper’s claims. The conclusion does not present new evidence but rather summarizes afresh the ideas presented in the body of the essay. |
| Mechanics & Style | 14 | Employs a formal, academic tone, uses good syntax, has no spelling/grammatical errors, has effective word choice and varying sentence structure. |
| Citations & Bibliography | 10 | Parenthetical citations OR footnotes are used throughout the body of the essay and a Reference List OR Bibliography list is available at the end of the essay. Formatting follows the conventions found in the EBC Style Guide that correlates with Chicago Manual of Style. |
| Word Count | 10 | Minimum word count: 1200 [No more than 15% of the word count, 180 words, can be direct quotation. |
| Criteria | Points | Description |
|---|---|---|
|
Title Page or Heading |
1 | Do you include either a Title page or Heading, according to EBC Style Guide |
| Unique Title | 1 | Does your essay have a unique title (other than English Essay) |
| Bibliography | 1 | Do you include a Reference List/Bibliography at the end of your essay modeled after the guidelines in the EBC Style Guide (Please format your references with a ‘hanging indention'. |
| Parenthetical Citation/Footnotes | 2 | Do you include parenthetical citations for each of the references in your bibliography (Author PubYear) (Parenthetical citations OR footnotes are used throughout the body of the essay and a Reference List OR Bibliography list is available at the end of the essay. Formatting follows the conventions found in the EBC Style Guide that correlates with Chicago Manual of Style.) |
| Page Numbers | 1 | Does you paper include page numbers in the bottom margin |
| Word Count | 2 | Is your essay 1200 words (Minimum word count: 1200 [No more than 15% of the word count, 180 words, can be direct quotation.) |
| Voice | 2 | Is your essay written in an academic voice rather than an overly casual, conversational voice |
| Grammar | 2 | Did you do a grammar check - Are there any spelling/grammatical errors or any overused words? |
| Intro--Conclusion | 3 | Do your introduction and conclusion connect via your thesis. (The introduction introduces the topic to be discussed, immediately engages reader’s interest, and leads the reader to the paper’s thesis. A clear thesis statement contains a “how" and/or "why" element. The conclusion restates the paper’s thesis and ties together the paper’s claims. The conclusion does not present new evidence but rather summarizes afresh the ideas presented in the body of the essay.) |
| Thesis | 3 | Does your thesis also work through the body of your essay |
| Clarity | 2 | Did you write clearly - Is there good syntax, effective word choice and varying sentence structure. |
| Your Ideas | 3 | Did you explain your ideas - Do you include your own thoughts, ideas and/or experience while not relying on direct address or other conversational techniques suited for sermons and or speeches. |
| Others' Ideas | 3 | Do you include others' Ideas (Your essay presents a larger context of ideas for your topic. You employ the ideas from your research through summary and paraphrase, while not relying entirely on direct quotations. No more than 15% of your paper is direct quotation.) |
| Organization | 4 | Is your essay well organized and unified (contains clear evidence of logic and promotes clarity by employing the use of transitions between ideas.) |